Home > Anime, I've Sound, Lyrics, MELL, Music > “They make me violate them.”

“They make me violate them.”

Have I mentioned lately my love-hate relationship with Engrish? While painful to listen to, it’s always good for quick amusement when reading, yes.

English is more and more prevalent in Japanese pop music, and artists that are fluent in English become heralded more. As a result, it becomes a bit disappointing to hear said performers sing even one oddly-worded line when obviously, they know better. But there are also the lyricists who know English quite fluently, and their lyrics can be a joy to hear, especially since they’re often the ones singing as well. But that variety’s just a part of life.

On the other end of the spectrum though, you have songs in full English that seem to be fine. When the lines are read individually, that is. Altogether, though, you get a picture that’s odd and amusing at once. Case in point: the lyrics to MELL‘s Red fraction.

Released June 14th, 2006, it’s a chaotic hardcore techno piece riddled with quick guitar chords under dirty filters. The music by itself is nice to listen to if you like electronika leanings, making the inclusion of the instrumental a good thing whether or not you like to sing along. (But you can figure that out for yourself in a bit.) MELL’s vocals are often hidden under the same filters as the guitars, making it hard to distinguish what she’s singing, as if the Engrish accent wasn’t bad enough. Not that it really matters if you just listen to the song for the sake of enjoying of the song.

But the lyrics. Oh, the lyrics.

I have a big gun
I took it from my Lord

Sick with Justice
I just wanna feel you

I’m your angel
Only a ring away

You make me violate you
No matter who you are

It’s all up to you
No one lives forever

Been burn in the hell
By all those pigs out there

It’s always been hell
From when I was born

They make me violate them
No matter who they are

Get down on your knees
Get a good head on your shoulders
If it’s for your guys
Go to the end of the earth
Do what you think
Give it with dedication
I’ll put out your misery

Have no prayer
So, I keep the gun with me

For my safety
I’ll do it with no sweat

They mean business
No time for sissy pig

Queen of Ocean
Sing “the Volga” to you

No need to think about it
You do it or you die

Those aren’t tears
Don’t let it trick on you

I am hard as steel
Get out of my way

Pay back all at once
Suck away the tender part

You made a mess
For Christ sake, this rotten world
Shit out of luck
Go with my vision
Light up the fire
Right on the power
Weapon… I have it all

Get down on your knees
Get a good head on your shoulders
If it’s for your guys
Go to the ends of the earth
Do what you think
Give it with dedication
I’ll put you out of your misery

You made a mess
For Christ sake, this rotten world
Shit out of luck
Go with my vision
Light up the fire
Right on the power
Weapon… I have it all

They make more sense once you consider that it was a theme song for the Black Lagoon, an anime focusing on a band of criminal mercenaries. But they’re certainly interesting to interpret all on their own. And even more amusing when you consider MELL wrote them herself. She’s not fluent in English, but give her credit – at least she’s given an interesting read and a vocal interpretation to match.

There’s also a Red fraction -G.M.S. Remix- on the single that sends the song more towards dance, but doesn’t remove any of the chaotic elements or the amusing lyrics. Thankfully. This song wouldn’t quite be the same.

This single is MELL’s major-label debut, and presumably she intends on following in the footsteps of fellow I’ve Sound vocalist KOTOKO and expanding into more than just game and anime songs. So rather than looking it as just another anime tie-in, think of it as a different side to the Japanese pop music industry.

A very different side. With “No time for sissy pig” that takes guns from its deities and wants to violate you. (I’m trying very hard not to laugh, it should be said.) But really, you only normally find this sort of thing in visual-kei. So I look forward to more amusingly violent lyrics in a musical format I embrace.

Categories: Anime, I've Sound, Lyrics, MELL, Music
  1. July 1, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    The G.M.S remix is my favorite upbeat song. I’m listening to it right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

