Home > AAA, Anime, avex, Fandom, Music > How many chances like this come in a lifetime?

How many chances like this come in a lifetime?

I was debating whether to post this or not, but you know what? Out with it.

AAA has officially been announced as one of Otakon’s musical guests this year.

And this just screws up all my summer plans and spending money. (Not that I really had any to begin with.)

I’ve never been to a con in my life. A bit sad, because I was quite the anime fan for at least 8 years of it, but true. And I was planning to break my con virginity next year with friends. But you know, AAA. On the East Coast. A 4-hour bus ride away.

Detrimental to my savings (especially since I’m heading to Hong Kong on August 4th) and mental health though it may be… How could I miss this?

So I’ve just spent the past four hours freaking out and fangirling and making very rushed plans and information gathering. All this with a growing puddle of drool undeneath me.

I’m not too fond of the way Otakon’s promotional blurb (their latest single was Kuchibiru kara ROMANTICA/That’s Right, and it was released over a month ago, dammit!) makes them out to be, but they did the same for Kitade Nana (who did not start the GothLoli trend in Japan). Yes, they started out with 6 members. Yes, they gained 2 new members. They only ever lost 1 – Yukarin. (And I’m extremely disappointed that this happened after she left.) They are talented, yes. They don’t really come from other professions though, they all were aiming to be in the Japanese pop entertainment world in some way.

Basically, the whole bunch of text is cheesy and hurts to read because it’s almost overdoing the whole pep-promotion thing.

But who cares? AAA in mainland USA! My chance to fangirl and scream in front of them! Break Urata’s eardrums with a piercing shriek! Maybe even a chance to get signatures! (See, that AAA T-shirt does come in handy!)

…If I miss this, I’m never going to let myself live it down. (Though on the other hand, if I go – someday, when my fandom has died, I can look back and laugh at the extremes I went to.) But hey. URATA. SHUUTA. WAIT FOR ME. I WILL BE THERE TO FANGIRL OVER YOUR REPECTIVE FUZZY HEAD AND HOT ABS SOON.

Oh dear. There goes the drool puddle again.

Categories: AAA, Anime, avex, Fandom, Music
  1. Jim Vowles
    June 25, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Hi! This blog was pointed to me by a friend.

    You’ll notice that the musical guest announcements tend to be *not* in our more informal house style.

    As with pretty much every such guest announcement, the text is provided by their management team and representation; changes to it must be negotiated in two languages full of legalese, and take forever. Since Ms. Goto’s departure was fairly recent, and the announcement had already been delayed for some time due to contract matters (and for all I know due to sorting out the details of her departure, but they don’t tell me such things), I’m fairly surprised that we were able to get that emergency revision done as quickly as we did.

    I hope your’e able to come and enjoy their performance — from what I’ve seen, these kids generate plenty of energy — but please refrain from inflicting physical damage on them while they’re guests in the US! (grin)

  2. thea
    June 27, 2007 at 3:00 am

    holy crap so you’re coming too?? i dont have any savings this summer because i used it all up to slowly pay off my credit card. so i guess it’s going to be HELLO MORE DEBT!! for me if i decide to go anyways lolol

    do u know if they are doing other stuff like handshakes, autograph signing, or like photo taking? if it’s just for a performance, i might pass on this one since i have definite plans to go see them next year (if they are still around after ATTACK lol).

  3. July 1, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Jealous…. If AAA ever comes to my country even if I’m poor I will go and see them because there might never be another chance unless you go find them in Japan.

  4. Jessica
    July 10, 2007 at 2:28 am

    I dont know if you remember me but I was at the JE Karaoke thing a few months ago. I was dancing to Rain and what not and Im a rabid KAT-TUN fan lol. I dont know much about AAA at all. Infact, I found out about them only a few days ago and dont know where to start because all the guys are just freaking HOT! So I really am excited about seeing them.

    Oh theres gonna be a JE meetup at Otakon as well please come and karaoke with us. Im sure most of us will stay with eachother for the concert as well. Its gonna be lot of fun hope to see you.

  5. September 18, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    EEEE Jealous T___T. Will they ever EVERR come to Canada?

  1. June 25, 2007 at 7:01 am

Leave a Reply

