Home > Blog-related, Music > In which Kimi wants a birthday song, dammit.

In which Kimi wants a birthday song, dammit.

I turned 20 today. 二十歳になりました! ★☆

Ah, no, I’m not expecting congratulations or birthday wishes or any of that sort. This isn’t the blog for that.

Instead, I’m going to pose (what I think is) a very serious question.

Why are there no songs celebrating the age of 20 in Japanese pop?

This is a very distressing problem. Especially because I was working on putting together a birthday playlist to listen to and discovered – to my horror of horrors – that there were no songs covering this particular age.

I’ve never actually had this problem before. I only started caring about getting my age in J-Pop songs wen I turned 18 – by which time I had Kishimoto Hayami’s Venus 18 and Kitade Nana’s eighteen sky to tide me over. The year after was Tamaki Nami’s version of 19 -GROWING UP- and Amuro Namie’s Sweet 19 Blues. But let’s say I was turning 17 – Miura Daichi’s 17 Ways. (Though he didn’t actually release the song until 18.) Or 16. Takahashi Hitomi’s 16. Hey, I’m covered even if I’m 15, thanks to Uehara Nami’s 15 Carat.

On the other side of this wall, I have something ready for me when I turn 25 thanks to Abe Natsumi and 25~Vingt-Cinq~, though I suspect I won’t care so much about this by that age. Actually, I may not care about this particular matter by this time next year. Which is a good thing, because I don’t think there are any songs for 21.

But being 20 in Japan is a pretty big deal. When you turn 20, you’re legal. You’re an adult. They even have a specific day set aside to celebrate young people who turn 20. (Let’s conveniently ignore the fact that I can still easily pass for a 14 year old.) Why is this not being celebrated as much as it should be?

Don’t give me the “a lot of singers are over 20” line, either. A lot of the singers I’m looking to for my coming-of-age songs started in the business when they were a lot younger. But all I’ve gotten is Amuro Namie’s Concentration 20, which just doesn’t work for me.

Until this situation is resolved, I shall have to listen to what I have declared as my official birthday song on repeat. Yes, AAA’s Friday Party. Shush. I’m not stopping you from declaring any songs released on your birthdate as your official birthday song.

In the meanwhile, have fun reading me being out of character and Raid perfectly in character over at fan★CRACK. We should never be allowed to talk on MSN.

Categories: Blog-related, Music
  1. October 6, 2007 at 1:49 am

    Hmm.. You can have YUI’s Happy Birthday to you you as a birthday song and her “Thank you my teens” as a thank you song for teenage hood and an entrance to adulthood.

  2. Kimitsu
    October 6, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Well, as far as songs touching on the subject of “Birthday” in general, there are plenty – YUI’s Happy Birthday to you you, BeForU’s HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Otsuka Ai’s Birthday Song, Koda Kumi’s (and SHIHO’s similarily titled) Birthday Eve, Tamaki Nami’s Special Birthday, some stuff by H!P… there are a lot.

    It’s specifically the age of 20 that I’m concerned about, especially because there are a lot of singers around my age in Japan, and even before that it would’ve been a great way to capitalize on Seijin Shiki – give the people a song they can sing at karaoke on that day, it will likely stick as a hit if good enough. But maybe that’s just me.

  3. October 24, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Hi, I was surfing the net and got to your site.
    About the 20, you can have Matsu Takako’s 20 candles. It’s a pretty nice ballad. :)

    Also, belated happy birthday! :D

  4. October 24, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Oh I forgot, she also has a song entitled “Your Birthday”. It’s a more upbeat song.

    Some of my favorite songs from her are: “I Stand Alone”, “Sakura no Ame, Itsuka”, and “Gomen ne”. :)

    BTW, nice site. :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

