Home > Blog-related, J-Dramas, Music > Thank You For…

Thank You For…

Because it is American Thanksgiving Day tomorrow, I’m supposed to be thankful about something.

But frankly, right now’s a pretty busy and insane time for me, half-due to my own stupidity, so I’m going to throw the usual things I should be thankful for out the window. (I have a roof over my head, I have food to eat, I have an internet connection and a laptop to be doing this on, I have working sensory organs to enjoy what it is that I enjoy, I have money to spend on J-Pop… I think I covered it all? Yes? Okay, there it goes. Hope that random stranger walking down the blog doesn’t trip over it.)

So things that I am thankful for this year that would be relevant to this blog:

Sure, my summer job was under a crazy boss and half the time I had stuff shoved onto me last minute – like in the last half-hour of my last day on the job, and I sincerely wish I was joking about that – but for the most part, I had it good. It was easy, I had time during which I typed up posts for this blog in Notepad, I had easy access to Japanese snack food, and most importantly, I got paid. This same payment allowed me to get to Otakon, for what I will always fondly remember as one of the best weekends in my life. You ought to know why already. (Okay, I’m sure you’re sick of reading about Otakon 2007.)

Living in NYC‘s a boon for the J-Pop fan in me that I take for granted too. It’s not California, it’s not Hawaii, but it’s certainly got a much better supply of Japanese music-supplying stores than most cities in the country do, and all the J-stars want to come here for reasons-unknown because it’s apparently awesome – I just miss all the awesome when they’re actually here. (It should be noted that I’m kicking myself over missing both Miura Daichi and Domoto Koichi when they were here – back in July. I’m sort of tempted to look up my horoscopes for that month and see what they said about that.) But the latter’s pain-causing potential aside, the former is a bounty. Oh, Book-off and your $3/7 shelf. Oh, Kinokuniya and the first Japanese album I ever bought (Hamasaki Ayumi’s I am… if you really must know). Oh, Asahiya and the fond memories of Hong Kong you bring… wait, that has jack shit to do with living in NYC. And oh, Karaoke Duet and being able to sing Japanese songs I actually know at karaoke (and the Urata video!)

I really ought to thank the Tantei Gakuen Q drama. So, thank you. I will conveniently overlook how you’ve caused my sister to fall in love with Yamada Ryosuke and how that has forever ruined Hey! Say! JUMP for me. (Fangirls, please go away today. NO. I will never have an interest in them, just because my sister’s interest in them terrifies me so. She actually bothered to look them up. She never bothers, not even with Arashi (and she’s declared her love for Sakurai Sho, who’s 10 years older, so many times it makes my head hurt) or NEWS (half of whom she identifies as “buttsex boys” – please don’t ask), and she’s constantly pleading for me to play them for her.) I will conveniently overlook how some endearing parts of the original were cast aside, how some plot holes were left as gaping maws by the time the show ended, how there were times I wanted to scream at the characters as they were portrayed because I loved the original comic.

No, we’ll ignore all that because you did three good things. One, you introduced me to the goodness that is FLOW. Two, you gave Kayou Aiko a role to act in and show off that she wasn’t just another vapid idol. (Granted, her role was kind of vapid, her murder scene was just plain ridiculous, and she had less lines than she probably should have given her role in the episode. But it was her with more than just song and stupid dance.) Three, you gave me Yamamoto Taro in a skirt, a fucking skirt, and that was just the first episode. Every time he showed up onscreen was a pure delight, and he was in every episode. THANK YOU. I suppose four would be it being one of the better quality dramas this year, with a good cast of actors and fairly high production values, though I’d throw Himitsu no Hanazono in for nominations as well; and five would be the BuriGuri tie-in of an ending track, but frankly, I’m not a big BuriGuri fan. Maybe next year.)

Thank you, those of you who read this blog, and even more so if you actually write yourself (because I probably know about it if you do). I think there are maybe 6 of you altogether, but the fact that there are people who actually read whatever it is that I write (because I’m not sure what it is myself) is a huge ego-booster and inspiring (in some misguided way) towards my attempts at improving my writing. Maybe one of these days I’ll come up with something that’s actually worth the attention. Or just resort to talking about H!P.

I can, however, safely say I’m not thankful for having met Raid. The nerve of him, getting me into Arashi despite all my attempts to the contrary and then promptly dropping out of the fandom himself. (Just kidding, I’m thankful for that too. I think. Though it’d help if he didn’t message me at 2AM – whether it’s his time or my time. I sincerely mean it every time I call him crazy.)

Categories: Blog-related, J-Dramas, Music
  1. Raid-kun
    November 22, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    You’re welcome. =D

    I promptly dropped out because I have too little money. It’s not like you dont know my marvelous spending habits. xD

    And I’m glad to know you too my fellow old b!tch! xD

  2. vinyabarion
    November 23, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I wish I had money to spend on JPop… I was fortunate enough to be able to buy PLAY… I even got the DVD… which I didn’t pay for but it was the best surprise ever… and your blog is awesome and I check it everyday… :P lol…

  3. icy
    November 23, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    I DIDN’T KNOW TANTEI GAKUEN Q HAS DRAMA OMG. I only watched the anime and I DIDN’T EVEN FINISH WATCHING IT…rofl.

    I read through your whole entry YAY.
    I should’ve done that like last month but didn’t .__. oh wells

    love you kimi.

  1. November 23, 2007 at 2:03 pm

Leave a Reply

