Home > Kuroki Meisa, Music, New Artists, PVs, Reviews, SONY > Baby, I can see someone else singing Like This.

Baby, I can see someone else singing Like This.

So I’ve got a bunch of posts waiting to be written – and this one, I confess, was done entirely half-assed.

Kuroki Meisa‘s PV for her first digital single, Like This, was released today. Maybe yesterday. Most of you readers, trailing over from the Yamada Ryosuke and KAT-TUN fans that make up International Wota, will probably know her as Sister Angela from Kame’s last drama One Pound Gospel. In addition to being an actress, she’s a model. And with her half-lidded eyes, she’s constantly drawing up comparisons in my mind to Yamada Yu, another model/actress turned singer.

Except the second time I was watching this music video, I started hearing Amuro Namie. Then I paid some more attention to her dancing, and her outfit in those scenes (with the tight and the black and the shiny), and I saw Amuro Namie.

We should all know by now the Japanese pop industry is anything BUT unique. You can only stretch pop so many ways. And to give Kuroki credit, it’s a nice synth R&B/hip-hop song, the dance beat catches on fast, and her voice isn’t so bad in it, though it lacks power. It’s stereotypical of the genre as found in Japan, but I could give this more than a singular listen. But from the layering of the chorus, to the semi-rap of the bridge, to the attitude permeating the song… it’s all screaming Amuro Namie to me. Kuroki even maintains the unchanging facial expression, though she showed some very lovely smiles in the drama. So was this done to have Kuroki coast on the tails of Amuro’s return to the spotlight? Or was this Kuroki’s personal choice of genres for her debut single?

Either way, Amuro with straight hair is utter sex. If the imitation was intentional (and I don’t doubt it was), Kuroki picked the right person. She’s not on the level of Yamada Yu, nowhere near the level of Amuro, but maybe she’ll grow into her own.

  1. oroitsme
    June 26, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I think you hit it right on the spot with the Amuro comparison! I had been thinking that Like This sounded like something else, but couldn’t place it; now I realize that the beats reminded me of Speed Star, even their voices sounds similar in parts.

  2. June 27, 2008 at 5:28 am

    this track definitely has Amuro written all over it… I thought she was going to have a music debut ever since she appeared in Crows zero as the singer girl, who knew it’d be just like Amuro?

  3. Manasa
    June 28, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Dunno about Amuro or Yamada, but I think she has done a neat job in this song.. quite addictive this song.. And I think your blog is fabulous! I am quite a fan of your blog! :)

  4. kookyprincess29
    June 28, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    wow,I didn’t know Ishikawa rika had a sister.

  5. vinyabarion
    February 28, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Alright… I just found this after that post up there (and you know me, Amuro Namie and I’m sold) but her voice sounds like Yamada Yu without the power with the dead sex appeal of Namie… if she could a bit more power and brush up on the dancing she’d be very amazing… I’ll be watching her for sure…

  1. June 28, 2008 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

