Home > Music, New Artists > Do you get her?

Do you get her?

Recently a little girl by the name of Kylee has been making a fuss in the NEWS fandom circle.

If you’re used to my style of posting, just the fact that I’ve bolded her name tells you she’s not a fangirl, she’s important.

You see, one Tegoshi Yuya is currently filming a movie titled Nakushita Kioku, and early on rumors buzzed that Emma Roberts would be playing the role of his girlfriend. Then it became Kiritani Mirei, and now we have finally landed on Kylee. I’ve got to say the girl has some smart management, because amidst all this buzz, she released her first single VACANCY. I can’t tell you the sales data, but I obviously took notice of it.

According to her official MySpace, Kylee is a 14-year-old half-Japanese, half-American girl from Arizona. (Well, I would certainly hope she’s a girl.) Well, that’d also explain her lack of an English accent despite that she sings only in that language.

Kylee’s a fairly pretty girl, and considering she’s only 14, she’s got a nice voice and a good sense of how to work the camera. A bit unfortunately, her music sounds very much like one Avril Lavigne’s, sticking her in the guilty pleasure category for me; though it’s somewhat understandable given she lists various rock bands among her favorite artists. Go ahead, play the video for You Get Me above if you don’t believe me.

But what really gets me (no pun intended) is her mouth. You see, Kylee has braces. This by itself is not a problem. I have braces. And the girl is only 14, the approximate age when braces are most often worn anyways.

However, Japan is the land of magical teeth correction. They will either leave the bad teeth in there, or get surgery (but that sounds a lot better as “magical teeth correction,” don’t you agree?) Take, well, Tegoshi for instance. Early pictures of him in NEWS have him as a very very awkward teenager. In this picture, ex-bandmate Kusano (a full year younger so also very much in puberty) is much less awkward than him – and Kusano cleans up nicely without it being too unbelievable. But my Kusano bias aside, note Tegoshi’s teeth. Here’s another, frontal picture for your reference too.

Then take a look at the Tegoshi of now. This entire time he was in the spotlight, and even Invisalign couldn’t have taken more than half the credit for that. Hence, I say “magical teeth correction.” (Granted, I think Tegoshi got himself the whole fairy godmother schtick too, because NEWS seriously needed the eyecandy magic after both Uchi and Kusano got the boot, but sadly we’ll never have confirmation of that.) This is not only the case with Johnny’s, but everywhere. Think of Tsuji Nozomi’s fangs, once upon a time. The concept of crooked teeth has become viewed as a “cute” trait, but there is still an effort made to correct it. We just never see the effort.

So with all that as a precedent, Kylee is rocking out with her braces in full view is a very admirable thing in my opinion. It’s an added bonus for her as a singer that a newer wave of overseas Japanese pop fans and potential converts – that is, the teenyboppers – can possibly identify with (because they “get” her), but for others, there’ll be a bit of a hurdle to overcome. And despite my fixation on her teeth, I’ll be looking forward to what happens.

Categories: Music, New Artists
  1. February 20, 2009 at 12:26 am

    holy cow.

    I think there’s gotta be some trend with girls releasing pop music in Japan, where it’s gonna draw more attention than the US… first BECCA, now this girl. Her music’s pretty catchy too, and the braces thing… nice.

    She’s got a mini-album coming out in a week or two, I might have to pick it up.

  2. oroitsme
    February 21, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Unfortunately, her braces might just be part of her “American” image though, since it looks like her company is trying really hard to promote her that way. Personally, I don’t see why Japanese celebs more often embrace bad teeth than braces, but either way I think it’ll still be awhile before we see some braces.

    (That said, the next Tego-level of overnight teeth transformation is going to be HSJ’s Hikaru, for sure.)

  3. Rebecca
    February 25, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    The song reminds me of Miley Cyrus, and in this case for me, that’s not a bad thing at all. I really liked the song, and her voice, and I think she’s adorable. The braces only add to the cuteness. I think it would be great if she eventually released a few things in the U.S.

    I had already looked foward to the eventual (hopeful) U.S. release of this movie, and this gets me a little more excited for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

